Interior Painting: The Amateurs vs. The Pros

Where did the week go?  I guess I have been so busy with house stuff, the days seem to sneak past me!  To be honest, it had been 4 days since I last washed my hair (clean tonight)….But, ya know, with all of the sanding dust that flies around lately, it didn’t even get greasy.  Drywall dust just happens to be a fantastic oil-absorbing hair product!  So, what’s been happening this week, you ask?  What has been taking up each and every moment of my free time?  Painting!  It started with a crew of 3 (plus me) last weekend.

Image

The Amateurs: From left, my hubby (roller man), my aunt (prep and priming expert), and my mom (cutting perfectionist).  This will be our teenage daughter’s room.  She likes this dusty violet we are using to cover the old white and lipstick pink walls.

Mom and Aunt B. put in a 10-hour first day, and a long second day. Hubby likes to roll like a bat outta hell (so there were some touch-ups necessary), but he was also on kid-duty most of the weekend, so I could be free to paint.  Soooo nice!  Before we started, there was a wallpaper border to come down in the boys’ room, some sanding and cleaning.  Mom got very well-acquainted with the shop-vac those 2 days…(Sorry for your sore back, Mom!)  We got first-coats on the 3 upstairs bedrooms.  YAY!  We did a light gray-blue in the boys’ room, light gray-violet in daughter’s, and I chose a warm gray for the master (also fairly light).

Image

Master bedroom, end of Day #2.

Most days this week, I toiled (happily) away at the second coats in the three bedrooms.  Time flies when your hand has a paintbrush in it!  Of course, there were other people in the house, and periodic distractions concerning the project (all good!), but mostly, my days were quiet and enjoyable.  My love of this house grows with every little improvement!

Yesterday, the last of the really messy stuff (more dust) was happening.

Image

Jeremy and Joe were my compadres at the house yesterday.

Image

This is Big Joe, completing some carpentry work.  I heard he worked a 12-hour day, to get all the little things (baseboards, door trims, etc.) done before the pro painters arrive.

Image

Poor Jeremy got the short straw. He spent all morning removing staples from the back of the stair treads.

Image

Not easy! These stairs better be worth it!

The professional painters started today.  I painted upstairs while they prepped everything.  We’re talking hours and hours of putting up plastic and taping.  The “Amateurs” did no such thing.  We were just careful….(And we didn’t use a sprayer.)

Image

Greg covering the stairs (those stairs again!). All of the wood-work of the stairwell is getting painted white, but the treads, those frustrating treads, are getting sanded and stained dark, like a natural walnut color.

Image

Danny starts priming some new closet doors. That’s when I left for the day.

Image

Couldn’t resist sharing a pic of my kitchen so far.  Still missing a few things…okay, a lot of things, but hopefully this will all come together in the next two weeks!

More painting to come by another crew, this weekend.  My father-in-law just retired, selling his decorating company, last year.  So you know what that means!  He has time and talent, and he will be coming to spruce up the upstairs bathrooms with fresh coats on the vanities and walls.  I will be his assistant, and maybe work on other upstairs hall trim too.  Carpeting is scheduled for next Wednesday, so it would be super great to be done with all things needing paint before then!

6 comments

  1. Those stairs are going to be gorgeous. Love the mix of paint and stained wood. MY FAVORITE combo! Everything looks great and it’s so nice to have such great help.
    I don’t know… I think I’d keep those lipstick walls. NOT!!! HA HA!

    1. Thanks, Stacey! You are right… Our family has been super supportive, whether it’s been helping with the kiddos or wielding a paint brush. And the professionals have been really good too! We are so lucky!

  2. Can’t wait to see your house Allison! Looks like you have done so much! I hope I can come home for Easter to see it!

  3. I just came across your blog! We also have a mid-century home in a cold, snowy area (Rochester, NY). The backyard ice risk is great! Your home has fantastic bones and it will be gorgeous. Rochester is also a very traditional area but there are some modern gems here. I was wondering what kind of roof you have? I’m looking forward to seeing your updates.

    1. Thanks for checking out my blog and following our progress. It’s crunch time, as our move-in date is fast approaching!

      To answer your question about our roof: It’s a rubber membrane, flat roof. And it’s in need of a total redo. The exterior work will start later this spring…. I will definitely document it when we get to that phase of the project.

Leave a Reply

