Ikea Delivery Drama

Having chosen ikea cabinetry for our remodel has been, how can I say it… a learning experience.  It hasn’t been an easy, straight-forward process, and Monday morning, I was a serious doubter (for about 30 minutes).  An hour later than expected, the truck carrying the contents of our kitchen, couldn’t make it up the incline half-way up our driveway.  The driver made several attempts at a running start, with no luck.  I thought they were close to giving up, and then the truck veered off the cleared drive, and into the deep snow.  They were stuck.  Half-way up.  My heart sank.  I thought we were going to have a delivery truck blocking the driveway until the spring thaw!  Here’s a visual for you:

Image

My kitchen project depends on getting this truck up the driveway. The tree miraculously was unharmed. That would have been a bummer!

Here’s another view of the truck’s location:

Image

You can see headlights reflecting on the glare ice.  We can’t leave to get some sand, so we search the garage for something that could help provide some traction.

And one more photo for ya:

Image

Yay! After about 30 minutes of shoveling, snow-blowing, and the traction from a large piece of plywood, the truck breaks free of the snow! Oh, yeah, we also sacrificed a West Elm jute rug, and here you see it on a second mission to cover the iciest portion. It was only a 5×8, and dirty anyway, so no tears involved. Just glad it got my kitchen to its destination!!

I applaud the delivery guys for never giving up.  I seriously thought they were just going to back up, and get the heck outta there, leaving me high and dry.  Had they not made it up the ice, it would have been a huge undertaking to cart the boxes the rest of the way on foot.  You could barely walk!  So, it all turned out okay, and my kitchen install commenced as soon as the truck pulled away!  Here’s what that looked like:

Image

Ikea kitchen delivered. Whoo-hoo!

A little side note about the planned installation:

I was not satisfied with the Ikea installation company (out of Chicago) who bid the project over $5,000, and could not accommodate my requested dates.  So, I searched online, and found a guy who advertised installing ikea kitchens, and called him up.  He came the next day, and prepared a bid that night.  He appeared confident and said he had done something like 25 ikea kitchens, even having worked a stint with Ikea, until he started his own business.  And!  He could start work my preferred week.  Jay, our builder, just suggested I make sure he is insured, and he promptly provided that information.  Sweet!  His name is John J. and he and his partner have been doing a fantastic job!

Here’s how things were shaping up on the first day of the install:

Image

John and Brendan at the end of Install Day #1. Great start!

Yesterday, John (architect) and Jay (builder), spent time addressing a few minor issues that came up during the install.

Image

Install Day #2:  Sharing ideas…

Image

Early afternoon of Day #3 (today). It’s really taking shape! I think it’s going to be awesome!

I know I have probably exhausted you with all these photos, but here’s just three more:

Image

This is Brendan, working on the few base cabinets we are installing in the basement. (See that painted floor? I did that last week!)

Image

And this has been my project this week. Removing staples left from the carpeting on the stairs is not a job for the faint-at-heart. About an hour per step, with a screwdriver and pliers. It basically sucks (as my 9-year-old would say).

Image

Here’s the back side, where the tiny staples (a real bear to get out) were used on 2+ carpeting forays.

Thanks for taking a look at some of the highlights of the week.  So much is happening, and we have unofficially set a move-in date of March 8.  Yowza!  It’s going to be busy!

6 comments

  1. That truck incident was SCARY! Look at that slick road!!! I would have been a nervous wreck. Thank goodness it all turned out okay.

    As for the install. $5,000 seems SO OUT OF LINE. Obviously you agreed and rightfully so. I paid $6,000 for CUSTOM built and installed cabinets. So for just install – that blew my mind. Looks like they did a great job and had a little fun too!

    I can tell it’s going to be so pretty, Allison. I love that you’re using white. So clean and simple. I’m also pretty sure that you’re squealing with excitement over this coming together. Can’t wait to see it complete. When we finished our kitchen the first gourmet meal I cooked was ……. ORE IDA FRENCH FRIES! Ha ha ha! Trust me, it was heaven to finally have a kitchen. I don’t think I’d win Top Chef… but ya know.

    YAY for kitchen progress… BOOO for so many staples to remove!

    1. Thanks so much, Stacey, for your compliments about our cabinetry choice! The Ikea Applad fronts have a durable painted finish with a soft sheen — really nice! But because they are a warm white, I think it may be a bit tricky picking the wall color. It’s probably not a surprise that we are going with a white there, as well. A funny side-note: Our last house had all white walls when we moved in, and the first thing I did was paint color (albeit mostly grays) in nearly all of the spaces. And now, here I am going the “white wall route”! This particular house seems to be begging for it; it feels like the right thing to do! So, considering the cabinets are not your whitest white, I am afraid of making them appear dingy by going super white on the walls. I foresee dipping into a half-dozen or so paint tester pints in the near future!

Leave a Reply

